Menu plan, week three

I can’t believe it’s the third week of our menu planning already! Maybe it’s our upcoming anniversary, but to me it seems like the new year is really going by quickly.

Here is what we’re planning this week:
1. Pork Roast
2. Chicken and Dumplings
3. Fish tacos
4. Tater tot casserole
5. Almost Lasagna
6. Breakfast for dinner
7. Corn and crab chowder

Unfortunately, money is really tight right now so we’re not sure what we’re going to do for week 4 but we’ll face that fork in the road when it gets here. The Boy Wonder and I truly try, and we do the best we can – but there is never any money left over for savings, or extra. I’m sure we’ve all seen the 52 week challenge floating around Facebook. I am considering it. Have you guys thought about it? Are you doing it? Can I still accumulate a good savings if I stop at a certain point (as in, stop adding to the dollar amount, yet keep adding to the savings account?) I don’t even clear $300 a week but that’s because I have both a 401k AND Christmas club contribution at work. (Plus the insurance)

http://www.52weekmoneychallenge.net/

Our anniversary is next Monday. I’ve requested it off but I’m not sure yet if I’ll get it because of work situations (someone quit, someone else has been out sick for a while). If I do, we’re going to be doing something special for dinner, just the two of us. This year, we have to scrimp just to have money for a dinner. If this savings plan goes well, next year we won’t have to. We might even be able to leave the house! Boy Wonder hasn’t seen his family in a few years because he’s from Iowa. That makes me feel really bad.

And of course, I have student loan debts I need to get paying on. Or, get the tuition amount that was sent to a collections agency only 3 weeks after being due (with no attempt to work out payments or anything) paid off so I can get back in school. Guess I know what I’m doing this week during my time off, eh? No sleeping in the chair!

 

This entry was written by Spidergirl and her Boy Wonder and published on January 15, 2013 at 18:13. It’s filed under anniversary, Menu Planning, Money and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

