Homemade goodness

Boy Wonder did some research on Paleo/Primal (although I’m not entirely sure who allowed him into the interwebs unattended), and stumbled upon Ketogenic eating for weight loss. Like Paleo/Primal, it has both huge fans and serious detractors. My research hasn’t uncovered much information yet, but I do like what I’ve found – restricting my net carbs to less than 50 grams per day while focusing on protein and (good) fat.

Being the bacon loving fatty that I am, the biggest thing I took away from all my research was the fact that some people eat nothing but bacon and eggs – and still drop a ton of weight. Heck yes, I’m intrigued. But what about their blood pressure or their cholesterol, or whatever? I have type II diabetes, so I wonder if it is safe for me… I see many like myself who have been using this eating style to successfully manage their own diabetes.

I’m not fully committed to it, but some of the research I’ve done shows I can still stick to Paleo, but eat within a ‘ketosis range’ for rapid weight loss. I definitely like sticking with the Paleo that I am familiar with…

Mark Sisson addresses this on his own blog, and I’ve learned that he really knows what he is talking about. He is one of my ‘go to’ guys when I’m looking for information. This graph shows how you can go into Ketosis/Intermittent Fasting when consuming between 0 and 50 grams of carbs per day, while even the next step (51 – 100 grams) will still help with rapid weight loss. I have this great chart that I found online here (OK. you caught me – Boy Wonder found that; I’m not much of a Reddit user) that shows I can stay well within that 0 – 50 grams and still eat the foods I am coming to love – especially specific veggies and fruits (in moderation).

But Boy Wonder and I both know we aren’t perfect – nor will we ever try to play it off that we are. And we both fully admit there will be times we aren’t strict with our new lifestyle – 80/20 might not always even be achieved. Tonight, for instance – we ate pizza because no one felt like cooking and the roomie took advantage of a decent deal. I really am doing good with no bread, which is where a lot of my carbs came from (that I can tell so far)…

But my recent discovery of Paleo Meatza and homemade Ranch Dressing have led me to question – what else can I make at home, and still have it be Paleo/Primal/Keto compliant? I’ll have to do some further research, but I did find this great recipe for homemade ‘cream of _________’ soup. Ignore the recipe she uses to showcase it – that has pasta and carbs and blegh in it. (Just kidding. It looks incredible and I’d make it if I wasn’t working so hard to limit carbs!) I already know I would have to substitute Arrowroot powder for the Cornstarch, but I have to wonder if I could use the powdered milk… I’ll let you know what I find!!

In the mean time, I have been up for about 20 hours and I am just plain tired. I hope you have a good night. I’m going to check out Wonder Boy’s post, then head to bed.

This entry was written by Spidergirl and her Boy Wonder and published on March 22, 2013 at 02:44. It’s filed under Home made, Ketogenic, Ketosis, Paleo and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “Homemade goodness

  1. Pingback: It’s Complicated | Spidergirl and her Boy Wonder

Leave a Reply

