Are You A Snacker?

I admit it. I’m a snacker. And I’m the worst kind of snacker: the oblivious snacker. You know what I mean. I’m either engaged in something online, on TV, or between the covers of a book when I’m snacking. And though I start off with the best intentions, before I know it the snack is gone. Which might be perfectly fine if your snack is a bag of baby carrots (which I tend to avoid buying because regular carrots are so much cheaper), grapes, celery, or something else like that. It is, however, a huge problem when your snack is a bag of chips.

I indulge in chips once in a while, even since learning about Paleo. I have not fully transitioned, nor will I ever as I have no intentions of giving up dairy. Here’s the thing that I’ve learned over the past 30-some years: If I crave something, I indulge because if I keep denying myself I will eventually over-indulge. Because I know myself so well, I fully admit this is one of the reasons I like the 80/20 or 90/10 part of Paleo. That said, I am still attempting to be more mindful of the foods I am eating – and how I am eating. This means no eating (not just snacking, any eating) while doing something in which I become so absorbed that I am not paying attention to what or how much I am eating.

Recently, I received an email from Nerd Fitness. I love this site, even if the forums just aren’t for me. This guy has a lot of great advice. But I’m not sure I agree with him on this one. He’s anti-snacking and has issued a no-snacking challenge. At first, I was all for it. One week, no snacking? OK. It’s easy peasy, right? (Also, why is this such a huge catch phrase. Better yet, why did I just use it?)

Then I started really thinking about it – and about my life right now. I don’t have your traditional office job. I’m not a stay-at-home-anything. I don’t even work the same hours every day or week. Let’s visit what I’ve worked so far this week: 5 pm – 2:30 am on Monday, 10 pm Tuesday – 5 am Wednesday, and then 6 pm to 10 pm Wednesday night. As you can imagine, this makes it hard to get a good sleep (I’m walking around like a zombie right now) let alone fix/eat a healthy dinner. And while Boy Wonder does most of the cooking, he doesn’t cook when I’m not home to eat. I don’t know why. And since my microwave has yet to be replaced, reheating some things can be tricky.

Where am I going with this? Well, let’s take last night for example – Boy Wonder actually made dinner, but there was none left when I got home (guess the roomie was really hungry) so it was a good thing I brought home some “snacks” of a meat stick and pork rinds. Are they the healthy option that fruit or veg would be? No. Did I have any fruit or veg in the house? No.

And I know that my decision to decline the No-Snack Challenge is personal. I don’t expect anyone else to agree with me.

Also, let’s address something. Here’s an excerpt from the article (you should definitely read it for yourself, though):

“It’s probably weird to think about, but snacking never used to be a big part of our lives and culture.”

But is this necessarily true? Kids used to get after school snacks. The British perfected the afternoon snack with their Tea, didn’t they? Are the snacking options (vending machine junk) mentioned in the article healthy for us? Gods no.

So here’s my own challenge for you. Read the article. Consider the information given. If you think the challenge will fit into your lifestyle, accept it. It’s only a week, right? And let me know how it works for you.

This entry was written by Spidergirl and her Boy Wonder and published on April 25, 2013 at 21:24. It’s filed under Challenges, Paleo and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “Are You A Snacker?

  1. Pingback: The Great Snack Debate. Which Team Are You On? ← Staying fit, healthy, and happy in the real world

Leave a Reply

