Welcome Back

Welcome back to me, and welcome back to anyone who actually reads this blog. No lie, life happened and both Boy Wonder and I forgot about the blog entirely. Who does something so shitty, you ask? Well, someone who is 100% a fallible human, obviously. So, there’s that.

But, I’m back. And I don’t promise regular posts. I’m not here to make money off readers, so there’s no pressure to be constantly funny or creative.

It’s been years, though, hasn’t it? Ugh. Yes.

Let’s catch up – Banse and I just bought our first house. Banse went to work for a local farm-to-table craft beer pub. I started a new job, and have since been promoted. I lost my father in 2015. In January we had to say good-bye to our precious puppy Goblin. I mean, she wasn’t really a puppy. She was 8. Too young, all the same. And Monday, we had to say good-bye to our beloved Peter, one of the cats we adopted in 2006, a few months after we married. I’m not over the death of my dad yet, never mind these two losses so close together.

I’ve been back to school, but had to withdraw temporarily. I think it’s going to be next year before I get back, but that’s where I am right now. L I am also looking at learning American Sign Language because guess who has partial hearing loss. Yes, ugh. I mean, I’m only 41. Too young for that nonsense. Do you know how expensive hearing aids are? Yeah. Neither did I.

So, with Boy Wonder and I buying our first house, we are back in the budget game. I’ve a free year of YNAB (You Need a Budget), but I don’t fully understand how it works. I’ve also been trying “no spend” challenges, which means we seem to be spending money every day. So difficult to save when you’re cash poor. But, we’ll get better at it. Never mind that half the problem is we literally moved our clothes and computers into the new house. Everything is pretty much trashed. We kept our mattress, but had to buy a new frame as the old one is too heavy for us to move. All new furniture, new dishes, new food… everything. Ugh.

And of course, my elusive search for better health is ongoing. BW lost about 100 pounds last year doing keto. I lost about 30, and gained it all back. Whatever.

So that’s us in a nutshell. Stay tuned for more adventures!

This entry was written by Spidergirl and her Boy Wonder and published on April 22, 2017 at 23:39. It’s filed under Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

